428 Front St S, La Crosse WI 54601 Box office:6087849292 info@lacrossecommunitytheatre.org Mon.–Fri. 11 am–5 pm Shows & Tickets

LCT Announces the Inaugural Class for the Hall of Fame at 2017 Patron Gala Fundraiser

LCT-granite-logo-3-smLa Crosse Community Theatre is excited to announce the first class of inductees into the La Crosse Community Theatre Hall of Fame at the annual Patron Gala Fundraiser on Saturday, March 18, 2017, at Weber Center for the Performing Arts, 428 Front Street South, La Crosse, WI.

“Although the Patron Gala Fundraiser is a special opportunity to share LCT with the community,” reported David Kilpatrick, Executive Director for La Crosse Community Theatre, “this year we are especially thrilled to show our appreciation to a group who were significant in the creation of La Crosse Community Theatre.”

As founders of LCT, the following are to be honored as the first class of the new La Crosse Community Theatre Hall of Fame: Sally Cremer, Donald and Barbara Frank, Colleen Kavanaugh, Al Saterbak and Julia Steinke Saterbak, Michael Thompson, Marilyn (Bruha) Wood, and The La Crosse Tribune. Each one played a vital role in establishing La Crosse Community Theatre as permanent fixture in the arts offerings in the region.

Sally Cremer was the initial leader with a vision. After serving as a producer for a local production, she was encouraged to start a community theatre. She served at the first President of the Board.

Donald and Barbara Frank have been with LCT since the very first production. Donald was an actor in the first play, The Matchmaker, while Barbara worked behind the scenes on the sets and costumes. The Franks continue to be strong supporters and current season ticket holders.

Julia Steinke Saterbak, who was with LCT from the beginning, continued as LCT’s archivist until 2009. Al Saterbak joined LCT in the 1970’s, but worked so hard and did so many different things that it felt as if he had been part of LCT from the start.

Colleen Kavanuagh was also in the first production, The Matchmaker. She continued to be a part of LCT as a performer, backstage volunteer, and director until 2009.

Michael Thompson was the first full-time managing director, serving La Crosse Community Theatre from 1964 to 1968.

Marilyn Wood was the choreographer for LCT for three decades. She shared her talent and time while running a dance academy in La Crosse.

Finally, the La Crosse Tribune has been involved with LCT since the first article ran in 1963. They continue to help LCT tell its stories and share all that makes LCT special as a community theatre.

These nine inductees represent the major activities involved in creating a show: the directors, performers, backstage technicians, administrators, season ticket holders, patron donors, and supportive businesses. La Crosse Community Theatre exists because these individuals had a vision 55 years ago and worked tirelessly to make that vision a reality.

In future years, individuals will be added to the LCT Hall of Fame annually. Current members of the Hall of Fame will participate in the process of recognizing those whose contributions to the community theatre spanned seasons and provided sustainability.

La Crosse Community Theatre is grateful for the dedication that all of this year’s inductees have shown.

Tickets to the gala are available online or by calling the box office at 608-784-9292.

< April 2018 >
sun mon tue wed thu fri sat